The Anticipation Rankings: 1/8/11

Posted: January 8, 2011 in Anticipation Rankings, Movies, New Releases
Tags: , , , , , ,

OK, so Season of the Witch is out now. I’m going to leave the it on the anticipation rankings because, well, heck, I’m not going to see it today. So, it stays until I see it (then it goes into the reviews pile), or until it leaves the theatre (which could be soon).

In order to get this going and have this be an interesting post, I gotta get a ton of movies on this list. And lets be frank… I’m enthusiastic about a TON of upcoming movies… so lets get em on the list!

    The Way Back

Ok, so I don’t think i give a crap about this movie. Saw the trailer a while back, forgot about it, saw it was coming out on the 21st and then I was like, “oh yea…. eh” I liked Enemy at the Gates. Is it going to be like that? If so, I’m in. As far as I can tell though, this is a movie about some guys walking all the way across Russia. Could you pick a farther place to walk across?! I give this “1/10 Siberian Tigers” of excitement.

    No Strings Attached

I’ve recently become convinced that somewhere in Hollywood, theres a group of drinking buddy screenwriters that have this ongoing joke-bet with one another. They go out drinking, going shot for shot with one another, and the game is that whoever barfs first has to write a romantic comedy about a shiftless layabout guy with two quirky best friends who falls in love with a girl who is so completely non-existent in the real world that comedy is inevitable. He then sells that movie for a bazillion dollars, he calls his screenwriter buddies and takes them out to the bar to celebrate and the game starts all over again. Drink, puke, laugh and point at friend, romantic comedy staring Rachel Bilson and Chris Evans. Then again… Natalie Portman is super cute… I give this “-1 Going-The-Distance”.

    The Adjustment Bureau

Now THIS I’m excited about. First time i saw this trailer, I cant remember what movie i was going to see, but i wanted it to be over and March to be here so I could see this movie. I love this type of junk. Dark City, The Matrix movies like that. Mindbenders, you might call them. Movies that are as existentially philosophical as they exciting and taut. That being said, I haven’t seen the movie yet. But I do love Matt Damon (in a purely platonic way) and John Slattery is always badass. Emily Blunt is… ok. I suppose she’s ok in my book. We shall see though, shant we? I’m gonna give this “5 guys-in-suits-with-fedoras”.

So, the new rankings are:

6. The Way Back
5. The Dilemma
4. No Strings Attached
3. Season of the Witch
2.The Green Hornet
1. The Adjustment Bureau

Leave a comment