The Quest for Travis’ Top 100

Posted: July 28, 2011 in About The Movie Fight, Travis's Top 100
Tags: , ,

So, I’ve decided to start another project on the movie fight here. We’ve got a good project going that is going to lead to us having the beginnings of a ranking for every genre. We’ve got the horror movie tournament moving into the sweet 16, which is great. I like doing the action movie league as well. And of course, I have the normal reviews.

But all in all, there’s something missing. There needs to be 1 more thing. There has to be a reason for it all. And so… I’ve decided to start writing my personal top 100 movies. It’s not going to be an easy process. There’s going to be a lot of hemming an hawing. There’s maybe going to be some shifting up and down of movies, but that’s ok. I think that a persons top movie list should be allowed to be fluid. Sometimes you’re in a mood for a certain type of movie. Sometimes something can be hot right now for you, but lose it’s luster over time. And vice versa, something can grow on you over time.

The key is this: I don’t know what my top 100 is. I don’t even know what my top 10 is. Therefore, sometimes movies are going to go into the list somewhere in the middle. I’m going to try to get them right, but I don’t know for sure. This must be a science, not guess work.

OK, so, how shall I begin? Well, Here’s what I know. I have a few movies that are for sure going to be in that top 100. It’s a Wonderful Life, Memento, Adaptation, Children of Men, Dark Knight, etc. What I’m going to do is write a 50-100 word paragraph about what I love about that movie. Then I’m going to write a 50-100 word paragraph about why i’ve put it above the movie below it and below the movie above it. I’ll do this until i fill the 400 word quota for the post.

Then, you can go over to the Travis’ Top 100 list and see all of the paragraphs for which I talk about that movie and where they all stack up. Over time, I’ll make it to 100 and past. When a movie falls out of the top 100, I’ll remove the paragraph and just have it posted in a “next 100” list or something. This might seem a little confusing right now, but I assure you, it will all make sense in time.

I think it’s going to be a fun project. Hopefully later this week or soon, I’ll find a way to get started here and you’ll see what I mean. The one caveat I should mention… this is a little atypical for TMF. THere will be no voting. These are my personal lists. You can help me, participate, comment, let your feelings be known, but it wont effect the rankings the way it would with every other rankings list.

OK, so we’re off and running. I can’t wait!

Leave a comment