Movie Review #51: X-Files The Movie

Posted: July 24, 2012 in Movies
Tags: , , ,

It’s been a long long project, but I’m slowly cruising my way all the way through all of the X-Files shows. I know now, that I honestly haven’t seen most of them before. Somehow I managed to pick up a lot of the major plotlines, and the ones that I had seen were among the best ones I’ve seen still, but there’s a lot of new stuff too. I’m at the end of Season 6 now. (PS – Don’t forget to check out the first post of my effort to rank all of the X-Files episodes. I want to get back to that as it was quite fun, but I am stuck writing these posts instead).

Here’s the thing… there’s a movie in the middle of this series!

So, lets get to talking about that movie, am i right?!

X-Files
The very first thing that happens in this movie is that it addresses one of the major concerns of the viewer. I had just finished watching some really awesome episodes at the end of season 5 and I said to myself… am I about to watch a 2 hour long episode?

That question is quickly answered with a resounding no. Some awesome FBI stuff happens, then some badass explosions, then it just keeps being awesome from there. The stuff that happens in this movie makes it so that the episodes in season 6 seem boring in comparison. The eps definitely don’t fit in as completely average and normal episodes.

The other question is would it have resolved stories? I mean, its a movie that takes place at the end of one season and before another. Would there be stories that were resolved? Short answer is… kinda. I mean, I think they did an OK job with this idea, but not a great one. They resolved it and if there hadn’t been an additional season, I would have said “BLAMO! Facts!” but in season 6 they basically act like nothing happened.

Do you agree with my assessments? Do you think that this movie is any good? If i remember correctly, people kinda hate this one. But maybe that opinion has changed.

Leave a comment